The Great Egg Debate

Eggs, or no eggs:  that is the question.  Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer the slings and arrows of the autoimmune system, or to eat eggs against a sea of troubles, and by opposing, end them?  Yes, I know in my last post, I said I wasn’t ready to give up eggs on the autoimmune protocol.  I finally gave it a shot to see how everything works, but I have a feeling that will be one of the first things I add back into my diet, right after coffee.  I almost gave up the AIP completely when a stomach bug hit me this week.  I thought I was having stomach pains because of the diet, but then I realized that everyone around me was throwing up, so I stuck with it.  Really, I used to eat anything for breakfast:  cold pizza, leftover stew, whatever was in the fridge (back in my single days).  I don’t know why I was so dumbfounded as to what to eat for breakfast without eggs.

My standard breakfast now is kale sauteed with something (this morning I made crispy kale with bacon:  saute two slices bacon, chopped, in coconut oil until crispy and then add about 2 cups chopped kale and a pinch of sea salt.  Saute until the kale is crispy.  I like this texture in the morning:  kind of reminiscent of having toast with your breakfast) and then a side of some sort of meat (this morning it was a ground chicken burger).No Egg BreakfastAnd, you can’t forget my side of a crossword puzzle and a cryptoquip.

It’s only been a week since I’ve given up eggs, so the jury’s still out on this one.  I’m not seeing a huge difference in my body yet.  Although, this time of year I tend to have a lot of pain issues and I haven’t been nearly as bad as I usually am.  I’ve been sleeping pretty well, but I have to learn to go to be earlier.  I upped my coconut oil intake because I read that coconut oil can up your T4 levels in your thyroid, which, in turn, will raise your metabolism.  As a 45 year old (soon to be 46), I can appreciate a faster metabolism.  I’ve lost a total of 9 pounds in the last three weeks, which I’ll take:  it’s going in the right direction.

My digestion is still off so I’ve been supplementing with some digestive enzymes to see if that helps.  It’s all just a shot in the dark (no pun intended).  Right now, I’m trying to find the right balance between supplementing and eating what’s right and keeping away from what doesn’t work for me.  So, onward with my science experiment:  updates to follow.eggs

 

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Autoimmune Protocol, Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

