Blueberry Paleo Pancakes with Blueberry Sauce

I’ve been following the autoimmune protocol for the last 2 weeks.  I’m still winging this whole thing and just experimenting to see what works.  Last night, I was hungry through most of the night so I didn’t really sleep well.  I think I was too low on carbs for the day yesterday (I realized that the only carb type thing I had through the day was a banana at lunch).  So, yeah, my stomach was kind of screaming at me this morning.

Now,  here’s another disclaimer about the AIP:  everyone kind of has their own version of this.  I just read on one website the other day that you shouldn’t eat eggs on the AIP.  I didn’t read that in the other website I was reading.  It makes sense, in a way, because eggs can be highly reactive in the body if you’re sensitive to them.  And, if you’re trying to cut out anything that may cause any sort of reaction in your body, you’d want to cut out eggs as well.  Seriously, I just can’t cut out eggs.  What else am I going to eat?  Maybe I’ll get to the point if the AIP isn’t working for me that I’ll try cutting out eggs as well, but until then:  um, no thanks.

So, here’s my breakfast this morning:  I love the mixture of blueberry and lemon.  I was jonesing for some carbs, and this is what I came up with:

Blueberry Pancakes

Ingredients:

6 Large Eggs

2 Ripe Bananas

⅓ Cup Coconut Flour

¾ Cup Frozen Blueberries (I used wild blueberries because they’re smaller)

Zest from one lemon

 

Directions:

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the eggs and banana and blend until well mixed.  Add in the coconut flour and combine thoroughly.  Stir in the blueberries and lemon zest.  Drop by 1/3 cup full onto hot griddle and cook until the sides are dry and there are a few bubbles in the pancakes.  Flip over and cook on the other side until golden brown.  Makes about 8 pancakes.

Blueberry Sauce:

In a small saucepan, combine 1 cup of blueberries with 2 teaspoons maple syrup.  Heat until the sauce becomes syrupy.  Serve warm over pancakes.

 

Hope you enjoy them!  Blessings.

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Autoimmune Protocol, Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

