The Autoimmune Protocol – Lemon and Kale Chicken Soup

I’ve been on the paleo diet for over a year.  I think I was hoping for BIG changes in my health.  Admittedly, I’ve made some strides in the past year.  The biggest stride I made was in my immune system.  The last couple of times I got a cold, it only lasted a couple of days and it didn’t knock me completely out.  Most of the time, over the last few years, when I’d get sick, I would get realllllllly sick:  and I would usually end up on antibiotics by the end of it because I would have some sort of infection.  Also, cuts seem to be healing quickly without any sort of antibiotic cream.  So, I guess, there are some changes internally that are being made.  Also, the down time – the times when everything hurts and I feel like I can barely crawl out of bed – has been becoming few and far between.  I was hoping for more drastic changes, though.  I was hoping I would be sleeping better on a regular basis, and maybe have my hormones working a little more consistently.  I was hoping to feel a little more normal.  It also seemed like, no matter what I did, I couldn’t lose weight.    If I lived in a perfect world, my doctor would be willing to work on it with me and he would be well versed in adrenal fatigue or leaky gut, but we don’t live in a perfect world.  And, any naturopaths in this area all are part of a spa of some sort, so they cost thousandS of dollars just for an initial consult.  So, I’ve been an exercise in self-research and self-diagnosing.  Anyway, after a year of the paleo diet, I feel like I’m on the right track, but I need to find out more about how my body reacts to foods, so this week I embarked on the paleo autoimmune protocol, which is basically cutting out anything that could potentially cause inflammation.  Here is a website that has a couple of print-outs on what foods to avoid and what foods to include:  http://autoimmune-paleo.com/paleo-autoimmune-protocol-print-out-guides/  The one thing I have read most about this is that you’re either all in or all out.  There’s not cheating on it.  Really, it’s not a whole lot different than what I’ve been doing already.  The biggest thing for me, though, was that I did cut out nuts.  That’s a hard one, though, because I was making a lot of things with almond flour and almond milk.  And, I completely cut out the nightshades.  I like an occasional tomato sauce, but that’s gone for the next 8 weeks.  All in all, I feel better this week:  the aches and pains are disappearing; I’m more energetic; and, the biggest thing of all is that I lost 5 pounds this week.  I haven’t lost an ounce over the past year and I lost 5 pounds this week.  Today’s lunch was a lovely lemon and kale chicken soup.  It was extremely easy to make and quick to put together (of course, I always have homemade chicken and beef stock on hand).  Without further ado, here’s the recipe:

Lemon and Kale Chicken Soup_edited-1

Ingredients:

¼ Cup Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1 Large Onion, chopped

2 Quarts Chicken Broth

Juice of 2 Lemons

Cooked Chicken, from one whole roasted chicken

4 Cups Chopped Kale

½ Tsp. Ground Ginger

Salt, to taste

 

Directions:

In a large stockpot, heat the olive oil.  Add the chopped onions and cook until translucent, about 7 minutes.  Add the chicken broth and heat.  With an immersion blender, process the onions until the broth looks creamy (or add the broth and onion mixture to a blender and mix thoroughly).  Add the lemon juice and chicken.  Add salt, to taste, and ginger.  Cook until chicken is heated through.  Add in chopped kale and cooked until wilted.

 

Hope you enjoy it!  Blessings!

 

 

 

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Autoimmune Protocol, Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

