Meatloaf on pizza night??

I have to admit:  I’m not a huge fan of paleo pizza.  Occasionally, yeah, it’s okay.  If you’ve read my blog at all, you know that Friday is pizza night in the Markowski household.  We’ve been having Friday night pizza night since we got married almost 16 years ago.  Since going paleo, I’ve tried at least a hundred pizza crust recipes and just haven’t found one that wowed me over.  My regular go-to recipe is pretty good, but it kind of made me lose my yen for pizza.  I don’t know:  no gluten, no dairy, no grain.  What’s the sense?  My daughter and I have been making Fridays our special day to have something that we feel like having.  Tonight turned out to be meatloaf.  I haven’t made meatloaf since we started eating paleo.  My kids always like my meatloaf.  Once I went gluten free, I used oats instead of breadcrumbs in it, but now that I went paleo, I’ve been ruminating over what would make a good binder for meatballs/meatloaf.  I’ve tried some meatballs here and there, but they all turned out a little dry.  So, tonight I decided to juice things up a bit and add almond flour to get that bread type of moist texture, along with some eggs.  I sauteed some veggies, and, of course, topped it with bacon.  I used a quick, paleo version of my great grandmother’s chili sauce to use as a glaze and add to the meat mix to keep it sort of moist.  My husband took a bite and he stopped eating his pizza and wanted my meatloaf.  Really, if you knew my husband, you would be amazed that anything could turn his attention away from pizza.  We had this with faux mashed potatoes (cauliflower steamed with some ghee added to it and mashed with my immersion blender).  Without further ado, here’s the recipe:

Paleo Meatloaf

Paleo Meatloaf with Chili Sauce

 

Ingredients:

Chili Sauce:

14.5 oz. Can Organic Diced Tomatoes, no salt added

6 oz. Organic Tomato Paste

¼ Cup Water

2 Tbsp. Coconut Sugar (optional to taste:  these tomatoes were a bit acidic, so I used the sugar)

2 Tsp. Chili Powder

1 Tsp. Sea Salt

Pinch Ground Cloves

 

Meatloaf:

2 lbs. Grass Fed Ground Beef

1 Tbsp. Coconut Oil

1 Med. Onion, diced

2 Med. Carrots, shredded

1 Cup Almond Flour

½ Cup Chili Sauce

3 Eggs

1 ½ Tsp. Sea Salt

 

Bacon for the top of meatloaf

 

Directions:

For the chili sauce:  In a small saucepan, combine all ingredients and heat over medium heat until thoroughly mixed and thick.  Adjust seasonings as necessary.

For the meatloaf:  Preheat oven to 375⁰.  Oil a baking sheet.  In a skillet over medium heat, sauté the onions and carrots in coconut oil until the onions and carrots are soft.  Sprinkle with a pinch of salt.  In a medium mixing bowl, mix together the cooked onions and carrots with the remaining ingredients.  Mix thoroughly.  Form the meat mixture into a loaf shape on prepared baking pan.  Brush the top of the meatloaf with the prepared chili sauce and lay bacon slices over the top.  Brush again lightly with the chili sauce.  Bake in preheated oven for about 50 minutes.  Turn oven to broil to crisp up the bacon.  Let sit for 10 minutes before slicing and serving.  Serves about 6.

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

