Revamp of Paleo Banana Muffins

I’m just starting to really get the hang of how grain free flours work, so I’m revamping my earlier recipes to make them a little more, well, tasty.  Not that they weren’t tasty before, but my goal is to make them a little more mainstream.  I loved that I was getting to the point with gluten free baking that people would eat my stuff and say, “Wow!  You would never know that they’re gluten free.”  Grain free flours are even harder to work with, though, so it’s taking some time.  I’m not sure if I’ll ever get to the point where you won’t know it’s grain free, but I’m still shooting for the fluffy, slightly chewy texture you get from having gluten in your food.  I don’t know: I guess I’m an over achiever that way.  Anyway, so I took my banana muffin recipe, made a better mix of the flours, added a little baking soda, used swerve instead of coconut sugar to be a little more paleo and threw it against the wall to see if it would stick (figuratively).  I do like the texture a lot better.  They are less dry and crumbly and the Swerve taste is more like traditional sugar than the coconut sugar.  I liked the outcome.  Here’s the recipe redo:

Paleo Banana Muffins

Revamped Paleo Banana Muffins

 

Ingredients:

4 Ripe Bananas, mashed

4 Eggs

2 Tbsp. Granulated Sweetener (like Swerve)

¼ Cup Coconut Oil, melted

¼ Cup Ghee

¾ Cup Coconut Oil

½ Cup Almond Flour

¼ Cup Tapioca Flour

½ Tsp. Sea Salt

½ Tsp. Baking Soda

½ Cup Unsweetened Carob Chips

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375⁰.  Place 18 cupcake wrappers into muffin tins.

In medium size mixing bowl, beat together the bananas, eggs, and sweetener.  Beat in the coconut oil and ghee.  In a small separate mixing bowl, combine the flours, salt, and baking soda.  Beat into banana mixture until well combined.  Stir in the carob chips.  Scoop into prepared muffin tins with a large ice cream scoop.  Bake in preheated oven for 30-35 minutes, until tops are slightly browned and muffin springs back when touched.  Makes 18 muffins.

I hope you enjoy these.  Blessings!

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Revamp of Paleo Banana Muffins

  1. Yum lots of delicious looking things on your blog! 🙂

    • Heather says:

      Thanks! I’m learning. 🙂 I loved these muffins – they taste pretty close to the original (but then again, I’m getting to the point that I’m preferring the paleo stuff over conventional).

Leave a Reply

