Christmas Time’s a Comin’: Paleo Sonja Henies

I have to admit:  I haven’t been much in the mood for making Christmas cookies this year. My daughter and I don’t eat them and my sons, well, they don’t need to eat them, and even though my husband loves Christmas cookies, he complains when they’re around the house because he feels the compulsion to eat them.  My daughter has been making a lot of paleo cookies, but she’s been using natural sugars, like honey and maple syrup.  I’m not a nutritionist, but I think that even the natural sugars have an affect on my body on some sort of cellular level.  I don’t know, but it may have something to do with adrenal function:  I haven’t done my research on it yet.  Anyway, I wasn’t sold on making Christmas cookies with ‘fake’ sugar.  I guess that ever since I found out that all of the sugar substitute I was using was actually bad for me and possibly even causing my health problems, I’ve had a bit of an apprehension to eating fake sugar ever again.  But, what’s a person to do?  I’m not a huge sweets fan, but I like the occasional sweet treat.  So, I did my research on sugar free sweeteners and found Swerve.  Here’s a good article on it:  http://www.naturalnews.com/039647_swerve_sweetener_ingredients.html#

Okay, it’s probably not something I would eat every day, but it works on my body better than sugar does and it allows me to have my occasional sweet treat.

So, back to my cookies.  I had to find a recipe for Christmas cookies and I wanted to start with Sonja Henies because they are my favorite.  I’ve always made them for Christmas and last year I came up with a good gluten free recipe for them (no one believe that they were gluten free).  So, I had to figure out how to make them truly paleo.  Yes, the jelly has some sugar in it, but I used an organic jelly whose first ingredient was strawberries and the second was organic sugar. Since I’m using no more than 1/2 teaspoon per cookie, I didn’t think that was going to spike anyone’s blood sugar too crazily.  I really love the way these turned out.  I’ve found that my favorite flour mixture for paleo baked goods is almond flour, tapioca flour, and coconut flour.  When used in the right amounts, it really mimics the taste of using grain flours.  Give this recipe a try:  I don’t think you won’t be disappointed at all.

Paleo Sonja Henies

Ingredients:

⅓ Cup Ghee

⅓ Cup Coconut Oil

½ Cup Granulated Sugar Free Sweetener (I use Swerve)

1 Egg Yolk, reserve the white

1 Tsp. Vanilla

⅔ Cup Almond Flour

⅔ Cup Tapioca Flour

¼ Cup Coconut Flour

2 Tbsp. Flax Meal

½ Tsp. Sea Salt

1 Tsp. Baking Soda

Organic Low Sugar Jelly, flavor of choice

1 Cup Crushed Hazelnuts

Directions:

In a medium sized mixing bowl, combine the ghee, coconut oil, and granulated sweetener.  Combine well.  In a separate medium sized mixing bowl, combine the remaining ingredients and mix well.  Add to the ghee mixture and mix until thoroughly combined.  Remove dough from mixing bowl and wrap in plastic wrap.  Refrigerate for one hour, until dough is stiff (don’t refrigerate overnight, though because the coconut flour will absorb too much moisture and the dough will become crumbly).

When ready to use, prepare 2 cookie sheets with parchment paper.  Preheat oven to 375⁰.

Scoop the dough by a small ice cream scoop into small bowls and roll into a ball.  Dip in reserved egg white and then roll in the crushed hazelnuts.  Place on parchment lined cookie sheets.  Press slightly with the palm of your hand and make a small well in the center of each cookie (I used the end of a wooden spoon to make the well).  Put a bit of the jelly in the center of each well (about ¼ – ½ of a teaspoon, depending how deep the well is).  Bake in preheated oven for 15 minutes.  Let sit on cookie sheet for 2 minutes before sliding the parchment paper off onto a cooling rack.  Allow to cool completely before eating.  Makes about 2 dozen.

Hope you enjoy them!  Blessings…

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

