Just in Time for Thanksgiving: Paleo Stuffing

Yes, I know, technically this isn’t stuffing:  it’s dressing.  But, for the sake of confusion (like people thinking it’s salad dressing), I’m calling it stuffing right now.  I gave this a whir this weekend at a church harvest dinner we had.  I really like it.  It’s similar to the dressing I make for everyone else, but this is healthier and I can eat it because it’s gluten free.  Usually I don’t use dates and dried cranberries to regular stuffing, but I thought that almond flour called for a touch of sweetness.  I apologize in advance for the picture – I was taking it so I could get out the recipe for Thanksgiving.  Paleo StuffingI didn’t take any pictures this weekend of it. But, I’ll take some more on the plate when it looks prettier and has that little bit of crust on it from baking it. (the little picture is the one before baking it)  I’ll post that picture after Thanksgiving.  Have a happy Thanksgiving and God bless.  *Here’s the updated picture.  Yes, I know:  green beans aren’t technically paleo, but I love them anyway so it’s my treat every once in a while.

Paleo Stuffing

Ingredients:

2 Tsp. Coconut Oil

8 oz.  Organic Sausage

1 Stalk Celery, chopped fine

½ Onion, chopped fine

¼ Cup Craisins, chopped

3 Medjool Dates, chopped

1 Tbsp. Chopped Fresh Sage

½ Tsp. Sea Salt

Pepper, to taste

2 Eggs, whisked

1 ½ Cups Almond Flour

½ C. Chicken or Turkey Broth*

2 Tbsp. Ghee

Directions:

Grease a 10” pie pan.  In a medium skillet over medium high heat, sauté the sausage until browned and crumbly.  Add in the celery, onion, craisins, dates, sage, and salt.  Sauté until  the onions are translucent, about 5 minutes.  Turn off the heat and leave the skillet on the unit.  Stir in the almond flour and broth.  Pour mixture into prepared pie pan.  Dot with ghee on top.  Bake in preheated 350⁰ oven for about 30 minutes, until slightly browned on top.  If you want it moister, you can add some more broth or gravy.  Serves 4-6 (it’s very filling and when you have other sides, you could probably get about 8 servings out of it).

*You can use either bone broth or drippings from the cooked bird.  Don’t use canned – I haven’t found a canned turkey broth that doesn’t have gluten and a bunch of junk in it.  Besides, it just doesn’t taste as good.

For the cuteness factor, I have to post a picture of one of my faithful friends helping me out.  This is Clifford our big red dog (he’s a red golden retriever):Clifford

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

