Winter’s Here: Time for Comfort Food. Chicken and Paleo Dumplings

So it’s fall here in upstate New York.  Fall is awesome.  I love everything about it:  the smell of the maple leaves when they crunch under your feet, bonfires, apple picking, cool nights, rain that makes the leaves more colorful.  I even like it when the leaves are off the trees:  there’s something very ‘Legend of Sleepy Hollow’ about it.  It’s also time for comfort food on cold nights.  I’ve been trying my hand at many different dumpling recipes and quite often they tend to have the texture of, oh, I don’t know, hockey pucks (not that I’ve ever eaten a hockey puck).  I’ve found that baking with paleo flours, it works best to mix coconut, almond, and tapioca flours.  Some people don’t use any of those flours, saying that they weren’t around when cavemen were.  I’m not that technical about the definition of ‘paleo.’  I look at the paleo diet as more grain free, then being completely traditional to the way our ancestors ate.  Paleo to me is eating whole, natural, organic.  I’m eating this way to heal my body, not to be a stickler about whether cavemen ate flours made from nuts.  Anyway, mixing the flours keep the baked good from being too crumbly or too heavy.  This is my latest recipe which both my daughter and I really liked.  They’re fluffy and full of flavor.  I don’t include the recipe for the chicken stew, though because it was just something I threw together.  I used some homemade chicken broth, cooked chicken, some carrots and then I thickened it with arrowroot flour.  After it was thickened, I added the dumplings.  Here’s the recipe:

Paleo Dumplings

Ingredients:

¼ Cup Almond Flour

¼ Cup Coconut Flour

¼ Cup Tapioca Flour

1 Teaspoon Baking Powder

¼ Teaspoon Herbs de Provence

¼ Teaspoon Granulated Garlic

¼ Teaspoon Sea Salt

3 Large Eggs

2 Tablespoons Ghee

 

Directions:

In a small mixing bowl, add almond flour, coconut flour, tapioca flour, baking powder, Herbs de Provence, garlic, and salt.  Mix well.  Add in eggs and ghee and mix thoroughly.  Let sit for about 5 minutes before dropping into hot stew.  Drop by small ice cream scoop into boiling stew and turn heat down to low.  Cover and cook for 20 minutes.

Hope you give it a try.  Enjoy!

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Winter’s Here: Time for Comfort Food. Chicken and Paleo Dumplings

  1. Sunny says:

    How is arrowroot as a thickener? I have yet to find a thickener that actually works and doesn’t leave a funny taste in my mouth.

    • Heather says:

      Arrowroot works well for thickening – it doesn’t taste any different than cornstarch. With arrowroot, though, you have to let it cook a little longer to thicken up because it’s not as instantaneous as cornstarch. The first time I used it, it didn’t seem like it was thickening and so I added more and then it turned out very gelatinous, almost slimy. The next time, I just let it cook longer and then it thickened up perfectly.

Leave a Reply

