Ghee – Golden Goodness

Okay, so my formative years were in the late seventies and early eighties:  20 minute workouts with the women in thong leotards, saccharin, low fat, no fat, sweat bands – the works.  With all of this hype forming my entire base of knowledge, the idea of fat actually being good for me is a little disconcerting.  Since I started the paleo diet, I started to wonder what I was doing to my body with bacon and eggs and (gasp) meat that wasn’t low fat.  So, of course, I did a little research.  Well, actually, I did a lot of research.

Now remember, I’m not a doctor or a dietitian.  This is all stuff that I dug up that corroborated pretty thoroughly between theories.  First, I found out that two doctors on two separate coasts were combating two very different health issues with diet.  One was looking to combat allergies with a high protein diet and the other was looking to combat digestive issues with a high protein diet.  They found that their diets were pretty successful in combating these issues, oh, and by the way, they found that their patients were dropping large amounts of belly fat.  Dr. Atkins found this research and ran with it for his diet plan.  Really, I’m not an Atkins follower.  I think I probably always thought of him as a quack I guess.  But, I have to hand it to him for sticking to his guns in an age of low fat, sugar free everything. In all of my research, I did find that saturated fat is good for calcium absorption, for cell processes, for protecting your live from toxins, for healthy lung function, for a healthy immune system, and for telling your body that you’ve had enough to eat.  And, yes, they taste pretty good too.  The finding now is that heart disease is caused by inflammation, not the fat itself.  In this experiment I’ve been doing with my body (being on the paleo diet), I have found that the all over body pain I’ve been having has significantly decrease, my digestive system has been working very well, and I’ve been actually sleeping well through the night.  I’ve actually been sleeping 8 hours a night.  I can’t remember the last time I would actually sleep 8 hours all at once, in one night.  Oh, yeah, and the knuckles that were swollen from arthritis are no longer swollen.  hmmm – okay, I think I can buy this low inflammation deal.Ghee

Here’s what I really am doing the blog about:  ghee.  Oh, my!  It’s really good.  I used it years ago when I made an Indian dinner for my parents (back in the days of the 20 minute workout) and that was the only time I used it.  Then, recently, I read that it’s okay to eat with dairy sensitivity because the milk solids are out of it.  Also, it is low in free radicals because the smoke point is very high.  For those not in the know, that means that it’s good for frying because it won’t burn quickly and not burning quickly means it doesn’t have a ton of the cancer causing free radicals that are found in oils with a lower smoke point.  Of course, being the cheapskate I am, I needed to find the cheapest way to get this ghee.  On amazon, it’s not too expensive, but I figured I could do it cheaper myself and I could be certain of the ingredients that way.

It’s really easy to make:  I used one pound of grass fed butter ($5.99 at our local supermarket).  Put it in a medium sized saucepan over high heat until the butter starts to melt.  Turn the heat down to low and let it cook for about 30 minutes.  Check it constantly to make sure it’s not burning because it will happen quickly and suddenly.  What you’re looking for is the milk solids to turn golden brown and sink to the bottom of the pan:  that’s when it’s ready.  Remove from heat and strain through some cheesecloth or a clean dish towel that wasn’t dried with fabric softener.  I was very careful to drain out the solids, so I strained it twice and ended up with about 12 ounces of ghee.  Once it cools, it will look a cloudy yellow color like the picture below, not so golden as the picture above.Ghee and Flax Rolls for Breakfast

You can use ghee for cooking, baking, spreading on toast:  any way that you would use butter.  If you’re using it to make cookies, you should combine it with coconut oil because it will cause the cookie to spread a lot if you use all ghee, but it will give the cookie that slightly crisp texture you don’t get with all coconut oil.  My daughter made some heavenly cookies the other day and I’ll have her take over my blog for a day and post her recipe.

Hope you enjoy it!  Blessings……

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ghee – Golden Goodness

  1. Joanne Lowery says:

    I agree, the low fat diets that are so heavily pushed, are part of the problem we see today, with so many people being overweight . We include sour cream, half and half, real butter, olive oil, and whole milk yogurt, which is hard to find. We will often put a bit of sour cream on top of our eggs in the morning. We find we are more satisfied, and cravings for the wrong stuff, like sugars go down. Clean fats also tell your brain, you ate enough, whereas low fat foods, send a message to the brain, feed me more, I’m hungry. Our healthy snacks are usually nuts.n

  2. Sunny says:

    Can’t wait to make this! I’ve been looking for a good recipe for this for a while

    • Heather says:

      We use ghee a lot now. I found, though, when I do more than one pound (I’ve been doing two pounds at a time lately because we use it so much) that it takes longer to get to the point where the milk solids turn brown. Also I found that one of my units is hotter than the other and when I do it on the one that’s not so hot, it takes about an hour to get to the point where the milk solids turn brown. Hope that helps.

  3. Heather says:

    Yes, it’s salty like butter. My husband says it tastes almost like the movie theater popcorn butter only not synthetic. My daughter loves it on almost anything. She makes paleo cookies with it a lot. She usually used a mix of coconut oil and ghee. It’s great for making curries with also (which makes sense because it originated in India). There are some ayurvedic properties that I’m not completely aware of. The Indians (from India) like it a lot.

Leave a Reply

