Try, Try, Again: Paleo Pancakes

The other morning, we were late starting school.  I couldn’t help myself.  I was trying out different recipes for paleo pancakes and it just wasn’t working for me, and I was determined to make it work.  And, as I promised when I first started blogging, I wanted to share my failures as well so I can let you know what I learned.

First, I had decided to let the kids sleep in and start school later than normal.  Both my daughter and son weren’t feeling well the night before, so I decided it was to everyone’s advantage to let them get the sleep they needed and we could do school more effectively.  Anyway, with the extra time, I decided to make pancakes.  My first foray was using a typical pancake recipe, and just substituting almond and coconut flour for the flours, adding some extra eggs and coconut milk instead of regular milk.  Well, here was the results of my first ‘experiment’:100_5052

oy!  It was a travesty!  I have to admit though, the crumbles were light and fluffy.  haha  The problem was that I had to add so much liquid to get it to a slightly pancake consistency, I had to add a ton of coconut milk and that made them hard to flip.  Therefore, the mess.

Next, I adjusted the amounts of coconut flour in it and then it looked like this:

100_5053Okay, now we’re cooking with gas.  These at least looked a little more like real pancakes.  But, they were dry and dense.  Not my idea of a good breakfast.

Finally!  I realized that the problem with my pancakes was that I was heavy on the coconut flour.  It’s a real moisture sucker.  So, I laid back on the coconut flour and added a banana for sweetness and body.  Here’s what they turned out looking like:

100_5059

Ta da!  This was a nice breakfast.  Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

3 Large Eggs

1 Ripe Banana

2 Tbsp. Coconut Flour

1/2 Tsp. Cinnamon

Directions:

In a medium mixing bowl, combine the eggs and banana and blend until well mixed.  Add in the coconut flour and cinnamon and combine thoroughly.  Drop by 1/3 cup full onto hot griddle and cook until the sides are dry and there are a few bubbles in the pancakes.  Flip over and cook on the other side until golden brown.  Makes about 4 pancakes.

Hope this is a blessing to you.  Enjoy!

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

