The Great Coffee Experiment

100_5039As some of you already know, I love breakfast.  I love everything about it:  getting up while the sun is rising, doing my devotions and then the smells of wonderful, comforting food filling the air.  I love coffee too.  There’s just nothing like curling up in the recliner with my Bible and nice cup of coffee.  Alas,  I gave it up when I started my paleo diet.  I had read that I should.  I don’t always believe what I read, but this article had talked about the high permeability through the intestinal wall, blah, blah, blah…..Anyway, when I’m looking for a way to end pain, I’ll try almost anything.  Also, there was the issue of caffeine and adrenal fatigue, and that made a whole lot of sense to me.

So, here was my experiment:  someone had told me to drink organic coffee and I shouldn’t have the aches and pains.  What??  You mean I can drink coffee again???  I’m in.  So, I went and got some organic whole bean coffee (something about grinding my own coffee is cathartic).  Let me back up a bit:  I was feeling pretty good.  I hadn’t been having my aches and pains.  Well, until I started to drink the coffee.  I had my typical mug full for three days in a row, with coconut milk and stevia in it.  I mean, I’m not crazy or anything.  I didn’t go overboard and hook up an IV with coffee in it.  Well, after three days of drinking coffee, the aches and pains and extreme fatigue returned.  It was a bummer.  But, then I started to think about adrenal fatigue and maybe it wasn’t the permeability of the substance in coffee that was causing my pain, but the caffeine that was taxing my adrenals.

Next I took a few days off of coffee all together until I didn’t feel so achy. Then I tried some organic decaf, whole bean, of course.  I’m happy to say that I’ve been drinking decaf for a week and haven’t felt any adverse side effects.  By the way, I really like this coffee, and no, I’m not getting paid to say that.  (although, if someone from that company were to say that they would pay me for promoting their product, I wouldn’t be beyond that)  Now, I’m not saying for those of you who gave up coffee that you should drink it again.  I’m not a doctor.  I’m just doing a science experiment with my body.  What may work for me, may not work for you.  But, maybe it can be a ray of hope for people who have given up coffee because they thought they should.

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Great Coffee Experiment

Leave a Reply

