Paleo Sweet Potato Pancakes

Well, I wanted to try something different tonight for dinner.  I know:  this isn’t exactly different, but when you just have vegetables and meat every night for a month, it’s a stray from the norm.  Generally, I could eat anything for dinner.  I typically like to have variety in my breakfast, but when it comes to lunch and dinner, when you’re cooking for 4 other people, I kind of don’t care what I eat for myself as long as it’s healthy and easy.  I just needed to find something different for dinner.  It can get a little boring just having meat and veggies every night.  It’s also limiting when we’re not eating nightshades or legumes or grains.  hmmm….  That leaves, let me see, veggies with meat, or meat with veggies.  Oooh!  I think tonight I’ll have veggies with meat.  Anyway, Leah and I love sweet potatoes so I winged a recipe for sweet potato pancakes and it actually turned out pretty tasty.  They have a fairly delicate texture:  they won’t crisp up like regular potato pancakes.  But, they’re tasty even so and very simple to make.  Even my non-paleo family members were liking them.  Here’s the recipe:

Paleo Sweet Potato Pancakes

 

Paleo Sweet Potato Pancakes

 

Ingredients:

2 Med. Sweet Potatoes, grated

1 Med. Onion, grated

2 Eggs

½ Tsp. Sea Salt

Pinch Freshly Ground Nutmeg

 

Directions:

Mix all ingredients together in a medium mixing bowl until all ingredients are well incorporated (I used my hands so I could tell that everything was well mixed).  Using a large ice cream scoop, scoop out the mixture and roll into balls.  Flatten slightly.  Heat a heavy frying pan over medium high heat.  Add a bit of coconut oil to the hot pan.  Add the potato pancakes, making sure not to over crowd the pan (I fried 4 at a time).  Fry for about 3 minutes on each side, until potato is tender and golden brown on each side.  Makes about 12 pancakes.

 

You could always top them with applesauce if you want, just like regular potato pancakes, but we liked them just plain.

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

