Paleo Macaroons, sweet….

Okay, I have to admit, I’m not a huge sweets sort of person.  I think I used to be, but once I went gluten free, the penchant for sweets just left me.  My daughter, though, well she’s another story.  I’ve been trying to find things that will give her a bit of satisfaction but won’t take her straying from her paleo diet.  She loves coconut, so the obvious direction to go in was the macaroon way.  Generally, except for the sugar, macaroons can work into the paleo diet.  So, here’s my revamped macaroon recipe, using less sugar plus using coconut sugar instead of white sugar.  Oh, yeah, and it’s topped off with melted unsweetened carob chips (you could probably fold some into the mix before baking, if you want to experiment with this).  Another bonus:  these couldn’t be easier to make.  I think even young kids could make these with a little direction.  Give them a whir:Paleo Macaroons

Ingredients:

2 Egg Whites

½ Tsp. Pure Vanilla Extract

⅓ C. Coconut Sugar

1 ⅓ C. Unsweetened Shredded Coconut

For the ‘chocolate’ drizzle:  1/4 cup unsweetened carob chips and 1/2 tablespoon coconut oil

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375⁰.  Prepare a baking sheet with oiled parchment paper.

Put all ingredients into a medium sized mixing bowl and mix well (a hand mixer will incorporate a bit of air into the mix, but hand mixing is fine).  Scoop with a small ice cream scoop on prepared pan.  Bake in preheated oven for about 20 minutes, until cookies are golden brown.

For the carob drizzle:  melt the chips and oil in a microwave for 20 seconds at a time and then stir like crazy.  You probably won’t need much more than 20 seconds.  Be careful not to over cook because it will happen fast.  At first, when you stir it, it will seem like it’s not melted or maybe that you overcooked it, but just keep stirring, stirring, stirring.  It will look like a thin gananche.  Drizzle over the cooled cookies.  Makes 12 cookies

 

And an update on how we’re doing on our diet:  I’ve been pretty strict about following the diet since I began it, with the exception of when I was making gluten free cupcakes for a baking competition.  They had grains and dairy in them.  Those did not do my system good at all – it took a day to recover from them.  Leah still struggles with her lack of energy, but the dizzy spells have disappeared.  I’ve only lost about 5 pounds, but I’m starting to gain more energy, so I plan on starting to regularly exercise this week.  I’ve been exercising a couple of times a week for the last two weeks and am planning on amping up that schedule this week because I’m finding that it’s not as hard to recover from exercise as it was BPE (Before the Paleo Era).  Don’t get me wrong: I love to exercise.  The problem I’ve been having for the last 12 years is that I would exercise hard and then it would take forever to recover.  Not only would I be tired, but I would get swollen glands and all over aches and pains.  The aches and pains are nowhere near where I was.  I’m still struggling a bit with energy, but it’s only been a little under 5 weeks, so I’m learning to be patient and diligent in sticking with the diet.

Hope you enjoy these cookies!  Blessings….

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Paleo Macaroons, sweet….

  1. Daniel Dow says:

    yummy! That looks awesome! 🙂

  2. Yum! Look so easy to make and tasty!

  3. Thanks for the recipe! I’ve passed it on to my personal pastry chef (my dear wife).

Leave a Reply

