Welcome Back Friday Pizza Night

I never thought I would enjoy Friday night pizza night again.  Every Friday, you hear throughout town, “Where are the Markowskis?”  And the response always is:  “Duh!  It’s Friday Pizza Night.”  Yes, we’re slightly creatures of habit.    So, Leah and I start going paleo and of course, the first question is what will we do about Friday Night Pizza Night.  I had very low expectations of any paleo pizzas.  This one turned out really good.  I was impressed.  I even liked it better than most of the gluten free crusts I ever  tried.

I’ll get to the toppings I used first, because I didn’t put that in the recipe.  I sauteed some bison and thinly sliced sweet onion.  I made a pesto with basil, spinach, pinenuts, garlic, a touch of nutritional yeast (when I figure out how I made this, I’ll post the recipe because it turned out really good). Leah’s a huge fan of bacon, so we put some cooked bacon on top too. We used Daiya cheese for the cheese (I’m not sure that it’s completely paleo friendly because I haven’t checked the ingredients since going paleo- it’s a decent replacement if you don’t feel like making your own, though).  So, here’s the recipe:

Paleo Pizza Crust

Paleo Pizza Crust

Ingredients:

⅓ C. Coconut Flour

⅓ C. Flax Meal

¼ Tsp. Dried Oregano

¼ Tsp. Granulated Garlic

¼ Tsp. Dried Thyme

¼ Tsp. Dried Basil

¼ Tsp. Sea Salt

4 Large Eggs

½ C. Canned Coconut Milk

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375⁰.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper and grease lightly.

In a medium sized mixing bowl, combine all dry ingredient.  In a small mixing bowl, beat together the eggs and coconut milk.  Mix the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix thoroughly.

Spread the batter onto the prepared parchment paper until it is about ¼ inch thick.  Bake in preheated oven for 10 minutes.  Turn crust over and bake 10 minutes more.  Turn oven to broil.  Top crust with your favorite toppings (if using meat, precook meat first) and broil for about 3 minutes, until toppings are heated through.  Makes about 4 servings.

I hope you enjoyed this as much as we did.  Blessings.

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

