Paleo Mock Oatmeal

I miss cereal a bit.  I guess I just miss it because I like variety for breakfast.  Yogurt with granola is out.  Cereal with milk is out.  There aren’t a lot of options besides eggs, eggs with kale, eggs and bacon with kale, chicken sausage…. Well, you get the point.  I wasn’t venturing out too much.  Well, there’s the occasional kale smoothie, which I could have all the time, but my daughter:  not so much.  So, I took a stab at making this oatmeal.  Once again, I didn’t have high hopes for this actually tasting like oatmeal.  The texture is very close to regular oatmeal, and you don’t get that cabbage cauliflower taste.  I was very pleasantly surprised.  I adapted a recipe that I found on Pinterest to fit our tastes.  Here’s the recipe:

Paleo Mock Oatmeal

Mock Paleo Oatmeal

Ingredients:

1 ½ C. Grated Cauliflower

1 ½ C. Canned Coconut Milk

3 Large Eggs

3 Tbsp. Flaxseed Meal

3 Tsp. Cinnamon

¼ Tsp. Sea Salt

2 Tbsp. Maple Syrup

Directions:

In a medium saucepan, add cauliflower and coconut milk.  Cook for about 10 minutes over medium heat, until cauliflower is transparent.  Remove from heat and whisk in remaining ingredients.  Let sit for 10 minutes and serve.  Top with whatever toppings you choose.  Makes 2 servings.

This is quite filling.  It does have a slightly eggy consistency, but I didn’t mind that at all.  I topped ours with some chopped apple, cinnamon and little drizzle of maple syrup.  If you’re completely banning sugar, you could try using stevia instead of syrup.  But, it was really tasty with the syrup.  Hope you enjoy it.  Blessings!

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health, Paleo Diet and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

