Paleo Breakfast Chicken Sausage

You may see a theme going here – we like breakfast, a lot.  I’ve always loved breakfast.  I don’t really care what I eat for dinner, as long as it’s fairly easy.  Sure, a nice sit down dinner with friends is always nice, but I prefer breakfast.  So, I’ve been on the search to make breakfast more interesting.  I miss oatmeal a bit and I saw a recipe to make a mock oatmeal with grated cauliflower, but I’m not sure I’m ready to be that experimental yet.  You’ll be the first to know when I do.

Here’s my latest concoction:  breakfast sausage.  I’m shunning pre-made sausage, even the organic type.  There’s just too many ways for things to sneak in that I don’t want to be eating.  I was actually amazed at how good this recipe turned out.  I thought it would be tasty, but I didn’t have high hopes for it actually tasting like sausage.  I thought it would just turn out tasting like a chicken burger with stuff in it.  This really does taste like sausage, though.   And, I got to use the sage from my herb garden, which makes me happy.  The texture is spot on.  What I ended up doing, since it’s only my daughter and I doing the diet, I par cooked all of the patties and froze them so they’re a quick breakfast treat.  I just reheated some this morning for breakfast and they taste just as good reheated. We had them with scrambled eggs with kale and onions.  Without further ado, here’s the recipe:

Chicken Sausage

 

Paleo Breakfast Sausage

 

Ingredients:

2 lbs. Ground Chicken

½ Med. Sweet Onion, finely chopped

1 C. Chopped Fresh Spinach

1 Tbsp. Coconut Oil

2 Tbsp. Chopped Fresh Sage

2 ½ Tsp. Salt

2 Tbsp. Ground Flaxseed

1 Tsp. Thyme

Fresh Ground Black Pepper, to taste

Coconut Oil for frying

 

Directions:

In a skillet on medium high heat, sauté onion and spinach in 1 tbsp. coconut oil, about 5 minutes until onions are thoroughly cooked.  In a large mixing bowl, add the chicken, onion and spinach mixture, sage, salt, flaxseed, thyme, and ground pepper.  Mix thoroughly.  To taste test, fry a bit of the mixture and adjust seasonings as desired.

To cook sausage, heat a large skillet on medium high heat and add some coconut oil (to cover bottom).  Using a large ice cream scoop, drop into heated skillet and flatten slightly with the back of the ice cream scoop.  Fry on each side until no longer pink on the inside (times vary according to how thick you make your patties).  Makes 16 patties.

Hope you enjoy them.  Blessings!

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

