Paleo Pumpkin Muffins

My brother’s birthday is today.  I was telling my mom about the diet that Leah and I are doing and, with great despair (as only a mom could do), she said, “What CAN you eat???”  haha  It’s really not that crazy.  Her intent on the phone call was to ask me to make cupcakes for his party.  So I made some pumpkin muffins since he loves anything pumpkin.  I didn’t want to feel completely left out, so I concocted some pumpkin muffins for Leah and I to eat.  I basically used my regular recipe for pumpkin bread, and just substituted a bunch of the ingredients.  I hope you enjoy them:

Image

Paleo Pumpkin Muffins

 

Ingredients:

1 C. Almond Meal

1 C. Coconut Flour

1 Tbsp. Baking Powder

1 Tsp. Cinnamon

¼ Tsp. Sea Salt

¼ Tsp. Fresh Ground Nutmeg

¼ Tsp. Baking Soda

1 C. Organic Canned Pumpkin

½ C. Coconut Milk

⅓ C. Coconut Oil, melted

¼ C. Maple Syrup

3 Eggs

Pumpkin Seeds

Coconut Sugar

 

Directions:

Preheat oven to 375⁰.  Place cupcake liners in a cupcake pan.

In a large mixing bowl, mix together the almond meal, coconut flour, baking powder, cinnamon, sea salt, nutmeg, and baking soda.  Add in the pumpkin, coconut milk, eggs, coconut oil and mix until thoroughly combined.

Drop batter, by rounded ice cream scoop, into prepared cupcake pan.  Top each muffin with pumpkin seeds and sprinkle lightly with coconut sugar.  Makes 12 muffins.

 

I know a lot of paleo recipes don’t use sugar, but they do use honey and maple syrup.  Technically, I don’t think your body knows the difference between regular table sugar or a natural sugar like honey or maple syrup (that’s according to my sister who has type 1 diabetes).  So, I try to limit even the natural sugars.  Treats like this are just a treat, not an every day food.

Hope you enjoy them.  Blessings!

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

