Paleo 101

paleoPyramid350Now that I’m starting to get the hang of this diet, I thought I would share what I’ve learned about a Paleo diet.

Here’s a disclaimer:  I’m not an evolutionist.  I don’t believe that there were cavemen millions of years ago in the ‘paleolithic’ era.  I believe in a young earth, created lovingly by an Almighty Creator.  I believe it was created in six days, with everything working perfectly together.  But, the Paleo diet is based on the premise that our ‘cavemen’ ancestors were hunters and gatherers and ate only what they could hunt for or gather:  meat, veggies, fruits, nuts to a certain extent.    After the fall of man, and once Adam and Eve had to leave the Garden of Eden, yes, they probably were strictly hunters and gatherers at first, but I believe, according to Genesis 3:19, that Adam was soon put to work making his food.  Also, Cain, Adam and Eve’s son, was a farmer.  So, I don’t believe that man was primitive for too long.  The man who came up with the concept of the Paleo diet claims that research has shown that primitive man was free from the “chronic illnesses and and diseases that are epidemic in Western populations.”  (taken from thepaleodiet.com)  On the other hand, I think that research could show that man 100 years ago was generally free from the chronic illnesses and diseases of today…..That being said, I think the over consumption of grains and genetically modified crops has caused many health problems over the decades.  That’s where I find merit in the paleo diet.

Here are the basics of the paleo diet:  grass produced meats, wild fish and seafood, fresh fruits and vegetables (trying to eat as much organic as you can), eggs, nuts and seeds (especially flax seed), and healthy oils (like olive oil, coconut oil, flaxseed oil, macadamia oil, and avocado).  I’ve found that Trader Joe’s has great prices on organic veggies and BJ’s has great prices on organic, grass fed meats.  It’s not a cheap diet, but sickness is a lot more expensive down the road…..

My favorite way to cook now is with coconut oil.  I love kale, in everything, even in a smoothie in the morning.  I think that hardest thing is trying to travel.  My daughter and I have also cut out nightshades and legumes for now.  Nightshades are:  tomatoes, potatoes, peppers, and eggplant.  We’re doing that for two months and then we’re going to add back in nightshades in limited amounts to see what affects our bodies and what doesn’t.  Sweet potatoes aren’t nightshades, yay!   The veggies we eat a lot of are:  kale, butternut squash, greens for salad, onions, mushrooms, spinach, broccoli, zucchini, summer squash, spaghetti squash, carrots.  That’s about all we can find that’s not in the nightshade family.  I generally make our own salad dressings.  I like to have a dairy free ranch, made with coconut milk and a Greek dressing made with olive oil, lemon, garlic and spices.  There are a couple of tasty dressings that I got from Dr. Fuhrman’s book Eat to Live, that are nut based, but I don’t eat those a whole bunch.  Oh, and the best thing:  bacon is allowed.  How can you not love a diet where you can eat bacon?  We eat the uncured, organic kind, so we don’t eat it a whole bunch because it’s expensive.

Let me encourage you that after two weeks of being on this diet, I am already feeling much more energetic and less achy.  I hope this has been a help to you.  Blessings!

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

