Day 13 – Paleo Banana Muffins

Paleo Banana Muffins 3

Well, we made it through camp unscathed.  I pre-made everything and brought it with us to make it easier.  I have to admit, it was a bit of a bore.  I just planned out each meal and made food that could easily be reheated:  things like chicken breasts, turkey burgers, lamb burgers, kale ‘quiches’ (I’ll post that recipe later on, once I figure out what I put in them:  they were easy to reheat and really tasty), plus a bunch of veggies and salad.  We were pretty much eating the same thing every day.  By the third day, I was getting a little bored with it.  But, praise God, it was nice having someone that was heating it up for us and it was nice not to have to think about what to eat for the day, so it had it’s pluses.  They have a snack bar open every night at camp and while everyone was eating icecream and nachos, Leah and I would have apple slices with organic, no sugar added, crunchy peanut butter.  We stuck religiously to the diet.  For the first time in many, many months, Leah didn’t have any dizzy spells.  Usually by the end of camp, I end up getting sick and am in bed for a week (at least).  This week, I came home and was energetic and felt great.  I had no aches and pains, except for the muscle pains from doing cartwheels and things my 45 year old body wasn’t used to doing.  hmmmm…..There may be something to this diet.  I haven’t checked my weight, though, so I don’t know if I lost any weight.

Last night when I got home, I made some paleo banana muffins.  Oh, my!  They are really tasty.  Sorry for the picture:  I haven’t downloaded Photoshop onto my new computer and we have kind of a crummy camera.  These are easy to make and soooo tasty.  My daughter had two and wanted more, but I told her to save them.  I used coconut sugar, but if you could use maple syrup or honey instead.  Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients:

4 Ripe Bananas, mashed

4 Large Eggs

⅓ Cup Coconut Oil, melted

½ Cup Coconut Flour

½ Cup Almond Meal

2 Tbsp. Coconut Sugar

1 Tbsp. Flax Meal

¼ Tsp. Sea Salt

½ Cup Unsweetened Carob Chips

Directions:

Prepare 18 muffin cups with a cupcake wrappers and spray with cooking spray.  Preheat oven to 375⁰.

Mix bananas, eggs and coconut oil until thoroughly mixed.  Add in the flour, almond meal, sugar, and flax meal.  Combine thoroughly.  Stir in carob chips.  Scoop mixture evenly into prepared muffin tins.  Bake in preheated oven for 20-22 minutes, until a toothpick inserted comes out clean (I bake gluten free items on the middle shelf so they don’t burn on the bottom). Allow to cool on cooling rack before eating.

These are a nice treat.  Hope you give them a try.  Blessings!

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Diet and Health and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

