Paleo Day 4

The caffeine withdrawal headache has finally disappeared.  It took almost three days to fully go away, but it’s gone.  I actually feel a little more energetic this morning.  I think this is the first time in a long time that I actually woke up feeling energetic.

Yesterday, I began taking L-Cartimine which is supposed to help in healing the intestines.  That should help with the vitamin absorption issue I’ve been having.

I’m trying to plan for going away to camp for a week, and it’s tough to find food that can easily be eaten while you’re driving and thinking of things that I can bring to camp that will be easy to grab and eat, because on their best day, the food isn’t paleo at all.  They do a good job with the food there, but I’m really trying to stay organic and non-processed.  So, for the week for my daughter and I, I’m going to boil a bunch of eggs, cook up some chicken breasts, hamburgers and turkey burgers.  I’ll be bringing salad and fresh fruit as well and a few cases of water. It will be kind of a boring week of mostly salads, but it’s only for a week and it will get us through until I have free reign of my own kitchen once again.

So far, my favorite veggie this week has been shredded butternut squash and zucchini cooked in coconut oil.  Very tasty.  When we get back from camp I’ll start posting pictures and recipes as I cook.

Here’s the recipe run-down for this week so far:

Monday: Keep_Calm_and_Eat_Paleo1

Breakfast:  2 scrambled eggs with one piece of bacon chopped up and a bunch of kale, mushrooms and onions sauteed in a little bit of coconut oil.

Lunch:  Bison burger on top of salad with homemade dairy free ranch dressing

Dinner:  Boneless skinless chicken thighs and the butternut squash/zucchini saute

Tuesday:

Breakfast:  same as Monday

Lunch:  banana with almond butter

Dinner:  Pork chops with the butternut squash/zucchini saute

Wednesday:

Breakfast:  2 fried eggs with a smoothie made of coconut milk, kale, banana, and frozen raspberries

Lunch:  some fruit and a hamburger

Dinner:  Large salad with chicken burger on top (I added some cumin, onion, and garlic to it to give it a mexican flavor), topped with a mango salsa (really tasty: mango, strawberries, avocado, and the juice of 1 lime)

It’s been a really busy week for me with trying to get everything ready for camp so I haven’t been eating at lunch time.  I have to get better at eating 6 small meals a day. I think the thing that’s hindering me is that since I have to cook everything we eat, it’s hard to think of how to make a small meal.  I need to work on planning ahead better so I can pre-cook things and just have them in the fridge so we can be able to grab a small meal.

Leah (my daughter) and I have been going through some weird things physically this week.  I think it may be caused by detox, or something.  My hormones have been a little wacky.  I don’t want to go into detail, but it’s just been a strange week for me.  Leah had a skin eruption, about the size of a quarter on her face.  I think our bodies are in a bit of shock.  I got back into stretching this week, which feels good.  Hopefully my energy will return and I can start doing full yoga routines.  I would love to start walking again once the pain goes away.  It’s been a real struggle for me because everything has been hurting, including my left foot so it’s just been hard.

I probably won’t check in again until after camp, so maybe I’ll have a weight loss update by then.  Until then, keep walking….

About Markowskis

Were a family sold out to serving the Lord: "Serve the LORD with gladness: come before his presence with singing." - Psalm 100:2
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

